My 2016 Resolution

In 2016 I vowed I would try something new every month.
In January I dove into the world of Essential Oils and finding natural remedies for everyday ailments. I have found a few I really enjoy but nothing life changing(yet).

In February I joined the local park district recreational center and committed to a full month of working out. If February was successful I would join a gym that offered more structured intense exercise classes in March.

February was a success so here I am four days into March and I have been to three 4:15am classes. Why only three and not four, you wonder?That’s a great question. The first workout was great, I was sweaty, exhausted, and it worked every muscle in the body. I couldn’t wait for the next morning, I had finally found the gym I wanted, not just needed. I was excited after years of excuses I was hooked.

March 2nd, workout number two, it worked every muscle again but it really focused on core muscles and legs. I felt amazing walking out the door, it was exhilarating I had finished another challenging workout. The class ended at 5:00 am, so I had time to jump back into bed after I shower and recoup before going to work.

6:15 my alarm sounds and as I stretch to silence it, I feel just how extreme that workout was. It was a good thing I had a conference to attend, so I would be sitting most of the day, I would be able to relax those muscles. I was sorely mistaken!!

March 3rd my alarm goes off at 3:45, time to get up and moving, my mind was all for it, I was ready to jump up and go. My body not so much. I tried I really did, but it didn’t take long for me to resign to the fact that workout number three was going to have to wait.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t just lay in bed all day. I still needed to go to work and educate adventurous and active preschoolers. It must have been amusing to see because a few of my coworkers giggled as they watched me move from the chair, to the floor, then standing, walking to the library, and then back to the floor again. I can only imagine what they saw and the awkward ways I moved trying to find the least painful position. I thought I was hiding my discomfort well until one of my young students asked me if I was hurt and said he would help me up from the chair. He said I should go home and lay down and feel better. I was going to take his advice.

A few hours later it was starting to look like I would be missing that third workout for another day and I searched for some pain relief. I found my answer on Facebook. On my newsfeed was a post about a friend using essential oils, I ran no I limped over to my box of oils and found one for sore muscles. Minutes later my pants were around my ankles and I was frantically rubbing oils up and down my calves, thighs, my lower back, everywhere it hurt, it must have been comical because I heard my husband chuckle as I slathered the oils everywhere I could reach. Five minutes had passed, the pain was disappearing, I had just had my life altering oil moment, I’m hooked.

Workout three completed at 4:15am March 4th.

7 responses to “My 2016 Resolution

  • Lisa

    Oh my goodness! That just made me smile! The fact that you get up that early to work out – yikes! Good for you. And I saw the pain coming – day two or three is when the pain sets in. I work with preschool too – that comment just made me laugh! Thank you for sharing that slice – it made me smile – now get back to your oils!

    Like

  • ldehaan1

    Way to go!!! I have to tell you my muscles are sore just reading about your workouts.

    Like

  • Katie Diez

    You are my hero! I should join you as I am up around 4 daily! HA! I admire your willingness to jump in to new things…your dedication (especially at such a quiet hour) is amazing!
    Great piece!

    Like

  • sgeijer

    I love this! I love how you found a link between your January goal (oils which I’m sure Megan got you hooked on…she obsessed! haha) and your march goal! I am super proud of you for getting up at 3:45 to keep your commitment!!!! 🙂

    Like

  • lindsayogean

    YOU GO GIRL! This is more motivating than you know. I have been debating morning workouts…much later than your start time! I’m in. Let’s hold each other accountable. This is so impressive!!

    Liked by 1 person

  • hela124

    Good for you, Nicole! Way to stick with it! I made my intention to start working out this month and only made it one day. I think I went to the wrong class. It was pretty intense, and I left there feeling exhausted and sore- there was nothing exhilarating about it. Fast forward four days and I am still not fully recovered. You’ll have to tell me what essential oil you used to get rid of your soreness.

    Like

  • baabazuzu10

    try this OIL…Young LIving…Peace and Calming……….works wonders

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Thorns Thoughts

"I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past" T. Jefferson

Hopes - Wishes - Moments

Kristin Scheirer

Hints of Hildy

Life is hard; choose joy anyway.

BETHought.org

Thoughts of Beth

Life, Love and Everything Else

The glorious and not so glorious life of a working soccer mom

Forward

Looking ahead

welcome to writers block

where the soul flower writes

Murphy's Law

Musings from a Literacy Coach

this and that

A "Slice of Life" Blog

slatterysol4

Wife, Mom, Teacher seeking quiet, relaxing time perferably without Mickey Mouse, Bubble Guppies or Sponge Bob

Dear Blake

Letters to my son

Sneezy Knees

Clean Shaven Slate

Writer1973

Life makes me Happy.....

Crotty Kid

A great WordPress.com site

screech33

A fine WordPress.com site

