Play!

Field trip day!!! Today we went to the children’s museum and a gentle reminder was painted brightly upon the wall.

We don’t stop playing because we get old,

We get old because we stop playing.

It’s a quote that stuck with me throughout the day. As adults we sometimes forget to stop and enjoy the day and play. I’m one of the lucky ones, I get to play everyday and go on adventures with forty of the most imaginative kids I know. Just this week I was an archeologist that went on a dinosaur hunt, riding a horse, swimming through a river, trudging through mud , climbing up a rope to the cave on top of a tall mountain, …. a dinosaur. RUN!!! Whew we made it! I was a rockstar and played the drums in the block area belting out the Lego tune Everything is Awesome. I was a patient that had my heart checked, a bandaid placed over my ouchies, and I even got a shot, the best kind it didn’t hurt and my doctors were adorable. I was an architect that helped design a zoo filled with animals that needed to be fed and taken care of. I even got to be a firefighter, police officer, chef, and mail carrier. I know as grown ups our days are busy but if you ever get a free moment, PLAY !! You will laugh, you will smile, you will have fun, you will stay young.

2 responses to “Play!

  • Robin

    This makes me think of the old milk commercials. Play, it does a body good! Great reminder!

    Like

  • ccahill2013

    So many things I love about this slice. First, I love the title. I couldn’t wait to read it. You had me right there. Next, the creative things you did and how your wrote about them. Such fun things to do with little kids. Sounds amazing. hey – you should check out Cathy Thompson’s blog. A few days back she wrote about the things we’re not too old to do. Your slice fits perfectly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Thorns Thoughts

"I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past" T. Jefferson

Hopes - Wishes - Moments

Kristin Scheirer

Hints of Hildy

Life is hard; choose joy anyway.

BETHought.org

Thoughts of Beth

Life, Love and Everything Else

The glorious and not so glorious life of a working soccer mom

Forward

Looking ahead

welcome to writers block

where the soul flower writes

Murphy's Law

Musings from a Literacy Coach

this and that

A "Slice of Life" Blog

slatterysol4

Wife, Mom, Teacher seeking quiet, relaxing time perferably without Mickey Mouse, Bubble Guppies or Sponge Bob

Dear Blake

Letters to my son

Sneezy Knees

Clean Shaven Slate

Writer1973

Life makes me Happy.....

Crotty Kid

A great WordPress.com site

screech33

A fine WordPress.com site

